Internship Update 1

Workout Video

This week I filmed members of the football team during one of their workouts for three hours. Using this footage I created a video that showcases their hard work.

Prior to filming I made a point to watch 10 sport hype videos in order to realize more clearly what sorts of shots were effective and what techniques I could use to make an effective piece. I gathered several things from watching these videos. These things include:

  • lots of close up shots
  • footage that is sped up or slowed down
  • very hard hitting hip hop music seemed the most effective
  • edits that were very synced up to the music

In addition, I watched a few rap music videos for inspiration for some of my transitions. I often would make a lot of cuts where the snare is doing triplets and have sections with two frames showing and two frames of blackness. This “strobing” effect seemed to be very effective. Also, when cutting clips like this I would make every iteration zoom in slightly or become gradually more exposed. Also, when the beat would drop I made a point to quickly zoom into the frame to give it lots of punch. I will continue to use these techniques for the upcoming videos and hopefully expand upon them more. For my┬ásecond try of a “hype” video, I think this came out decent, but I know I could push much further and I will strive to do so.

Green Screen

When talking to the coaches this week they expressed that they planned on doing lots of videos involving green screens. To prepare for this, I went to the studio for several hours and practiced with the green screen. Prior to that, I was honestly pretty horrible using them. Upon exiting the studio that day I learned how to properly light a green screen, and how to effectively key out the screen in a clean and efficient way. This Monday I will be heading to the studio with the coaches and some of the players to film some clips for some short videos.

 

 

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

