Animation Self-Critique

Within the past few weeks I started taking some classes on animation at Alfred State College.  Over the course of this time I’ve had the opportunity to experiment with a few forms of animation. Some have been more successful than others, but I feel like I am learning slowly but surely about what it takes to create strong animations. The following will be a reflection on the past few weeks on my own work, and will give insight as to how I could improve as an animator.

Every week when we are given different exercises in class I try to do different styles to see what animation style feels the most comfortable for me. At this current point I think it would benefit me to pick a style, and a program to animate in and get extremely comfortable with both of them and really learn the ins and outs of how they work.  This is the only way that I will be able to effectively utilize the 12 principles of animation and create work that is truly compelling.  Another thing that would vastly improve my work is my commitment to learning animation.  For the longest time I”ve had the most serious commitment to graphic design and I think it’s time to deviate from that and expand the skills that I haven’t developed quite as much, such as animation. I need to utilize the things that I have taught myself in graphic design, but focus particularly on the motion of everything and figure out how to put my designs into motion effectively. Taking myself out of this box that I put myself in is the only way that I will be able to truly expand on my skills and make the best work.  I also think I could benefit from planning out what I’m doing better.  It seems when I try to animate anything I just jump into it and see where the wind takes me, and while I’ve found this to be effective at times I would say it is generally not a smart way to work and won’t help me improve in any way. Planning things out is half the battle when it comes to animation. Potentially the biggest thing that really holds me back as an animator is the fact that I procrastinate really bad. I find myself rushing to get things done right before the deadline which is stressful for me because I don’t want to hand in anything that is embarrassing and would make me look like a poor artist.  Starting my projects sooner and working little by little over the course of a longer span of time will end up making the biggest difference in my work. Hopefully over the course of the rest of the semester (and my life) I will be able to implement this into my work.

Clearly, despite my efforts I have a long way to go if I want to be successful in the world of animation. If I work hard, learn a specific style and program, and stop procrastinating I will be able to make work that is much more compelling.  I’m excited to implement these new ideas and values into my work efforts and hopefully they will end up making a big difference in my work and I will become the animator that I want to be.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

