Interactive Media “What the Eye Can See” Gallery Writeup

12322561_1019780854711885_4423614509209692107_o.jpg

On December 13th I traveled to the Arnot Mall in Horseheads New York to view work that was created by seniors at my school in the Digital Media and Animation major. It was an interesting experience because it was my opportunity of seeing what would be expected of me in the coming years.

The gallery was all about optical illusions and manipulating perspective. Upon entering the gallery I was asked to fill out a short survey stating my name, age and how I found out about the gallery (this will come into play later). After that I was told to stand on an X on the floor marked with tape and to look at a box the was approximately 8 feet in front of me sitting on a table. The box was about 2’x 2′ x 2′ and had 6 glass sides, as well as several cut-up cutouts of people inside the box, facing me. I was told to move around and notice how my movements effected what I saw inside the box. Different angles caused different pictures to line up with eachother and it created an interesting notion of perspective. It enforced the point that two people could look at the same situation and see completely different things.

 

Another piece that I felt was interesting from this showcase was a 3d print that I believe was done by Amelia Fantasia. When looking at the print from one side it read the word “YES” but looking from the other side it read “NO”. It was interesting how when viewed the object from different sides you saw a completely different image and derived the exact opposite meaning from it. The perspective the viewer physically has on this single object, can completely change the metaphorical meaning that can be derived from it. This concept really fascinated me.

 

The final piece that I thought was interesting was one that made a statement about surveillence. I was asked to come through a black curtain to a different section of the gallery. I looked at a screen that was on the board and there was a picture of my face, my full name and my age. It turns out that the survey that I filled out upon entering the gallery was  soley being used as a way of recording my personal information. Also on the screen were live video feeds of people walking around the gallery. This piece made a really strong statement about how we are always being watched and helped us envision the perspective that the government has on us. It opened up my eyes and made me think about how I carelessly give away my personal information on the internet, and how people could be using it in ways that could be less than beneficial to me as a person.

Overall, the gallery was intersting and offered fresh new ideas on the concept of perspective. It helped me to re-imagine the context that I live in and how I relate to the people around me. The gallery was successful in getting me to ponder how different people can look at the same thing and have completely different perspectives on it.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

