Listening Exercise Part 1 – Production 1

soundinterpret

For this project, I was asked to sit somewhere and interpret the sounds that I was hearing through drawing. The lines geometric lines represent sounds that are predictable while the organic lines represent things that are a little more sporadic. The placement of the lines depicts where they are in relation to where I am sitting.

The blue line in the center is meant to represent my oscillating fan. It rotates in regular intervals it sounds different based on where it is blowing in the room. The color is blue because I associated that with the soft nature of the noise.

The red figure on the left represents the droning buzz given off by my fridge. It is a very loud and rigid sound, but can only be noticed on the left side of the room. Whenever somebody is in that region it is something that can’t go unnoticed. On the other side of the room, it is something that can be easily overlooked. I chose the color red because it helps to depict the droning hard-edge buzz that the sound embodies.

The organic yellow line that appears in the top left of the picture and dribbles into the bottom center represents the splashing from my fish tank. It is a very light sound that never stops and is very unpredictable as far as the exact intervals that it makes noise. I chose to make the line extremely organic to represent how soft the noise is and to show how unpredictable it can be. The line has more presence towards the top left because the fish tank is in the back left section of my room in relation to me.  The yellow line represents where the sound originates and how it carries to where I am sitting. I chose the color yellow because the noise is very light and airy.

The “web” of lines in the top in the picture is meant to represent the noise that is made by the neighbors that live directly above me. The web of lines is copied, transposed and the color is changed in each instance to represent the sound having to pass through multiple layers of material before it reaches me. This causes a small echo and sounds very “phasey”. I chose to do a hard border on the edge of the line to show that the sound doesn’t particularly carry well and that it is somewhat contained.

The hard-edged white “barcode” looking lines on the right are the sounds of my neighbors doors slamming. This is a very big, loud noise that happens occasionally. The noise is very hard edged and louder than most other things that happen outside. How far the bars extend negatively onto the X axis determines the amplitude of the sound. I chose white in stark contrast with the background because it is a noise that has much more presence than anything else. It appears on the right side because all of the doors in my suite are on that side of the outside of my room.

The black and white lines towards the top right of the screen represent the high pitched whistling of doors when they are opened. There are two copies of this line slightly transposed to represent how there are two tones a lot of the time when this occurs, one being a few pitches lower than the other. The line is big at the top and gets thinner at the bottom to represent how the pitch starts lower and raises as the sound progresses.

The purple lines towards the right represent my neighbors music. I mades several copies of the same line and moved them as well as slightly blurred them in an effort to represent the artificial sounding synthesizers that play in their music. The line is very sporadic to represent how unpredictable the music will be. The only sure thing is that it is usually dance music. I made the purple lines not extend past the “barcode lines” in an effort to represent that it is never louder than the loud slamming of when the doors close.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

