Genesis Creation Story Comic Book

Create a comic book page of at least five panels that shows a section of a creation story.

Figure and Motion,   Creation Myth Comic Page,   Ink on Bristol Board,   11″X14″,       Adobe Photoshop CC,   Printer Paper,   22″X17″

  COLORWEB

Bandwweb

 BLACKANDWHITE

COMICINK

For my creation story, I chose the Genesis Creation story that involves the week that God created the world and everything in it.  I tried to incorporate a variety of panel styles to make the comic as a whole something aesthetically pleasing and interesting to look at.  I took influences from several things to shape my art style for this piece.  I took influence from Japanese woodblock prints and tried using a heavy outline and vibrant colors.  I took mild influence from the artwork of Dr. Suess for the designs of some of my characters.  I tried to make the comic as a whole have a dark, eerie feel because it is something that isn’t normally associated with this story.  I put a extremely heavy emphasis on texture and tried to make it one of the stronger elements in my comic.  Tried to use non-local color to help add to the dark eerie nature of the piece.  Overall, the work is organic and has a very loose feel to it.

It was challenging coming up with how to draw certain elements in this piece while keeping the style consistent.  It was also challenging choosing exactly what colors would represent the emotion that I wanted to get across.  It was challenging getting this comic to look exactly how I wanted it to.  This is one of the projects that I put a great deal of time and effort into throughout the whole process, and getting the work to appear just as it did in my head, and it was not easy.  I spent countless hours making sure everything looked just right.  I would constantly do, and redo scenes until I was happy with them.

As an artist, I feel this project helped me to grow tremendously.  I feel this project is helping me to develop a style that is unique to me.  I spent countless hours on this project to ensure that this piece came out just right.  I feel this project helped me to develop a better sense of color and texture, and overall just helped me to see out long term visions for my art.  I intend on making more pieces like this in an effort to further grow as an artist and eventually reach my full potential.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Best Work, Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

