Self Portrait

 

FINALLLL

Figure and Motion,   Self-Portrait,   Camera,   Adobe Photoshop CC,   Charcoal,   Arches Paper,   22″X30″

 

This project has shown me a lot about myself.  It is crazy to see how much I’ve improved from the beginning of the year to the end.  Though this picture is nowhere near perfect in any way, it is truly amazing how much I’ve learned over the course of this school year.  My teachers have taught me things that I never though I would be able to even roughly grasp and I like the thought that I’m slowly starting to progress as an artist.  I’m excited to see where my skills are in a year if I continue doing traditional art and keep making charcoal drawings.

On an artistic level, I tried paying close attention to the composition of the piece.  My piece depicts me looking into the distance, hopeful yet worried at the same time.  The composition is open, and unbalanced.  I tried to make sure the shading was done accurately with many different values in order to provide the portrait with real form and make it more lifelike.

 

 

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

