Drapery Project: Abandonment.

FINALLLLL

Figure and Motion,   Drapery,   Charcoal,   18″X24″

I chose my composition because I enjoyed the visual aesthetic of the bridge of the goat’s nose.  I tried using elements of atmospheric perspective to give the piece more depth and tried to make it look less like a 2-D image and more like a real life scene.  I tried using a high level of contrast as to give the piece a much stronger sense of depth, and to add to add to a developed sense of form within the image.    I intentionally made a large portion of the background a slate grey color as to put more emphasis on the goat’s head and less on the background.  I included the cloth in the front, right portion of the image to pull weight towards that section of the skull, and to make the viewer enter the picture from the bottom.  I felt having a level of negative space would add to the composition and make it a more interesting piece.  Having the skull both floating in the negative space and sitting on the cloth offered an interesting perspective, and made the piece more interesting than a simple still life.  I felt I would try and be as creative and out of the box as I could without taking away too much from the bare essentials of the project.

Sketch.

IMG_0630

Progression.

IMG_0681IMG_0688IMG_0689IMG_0693

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

