Figure Drawing Journal – Week 7

 

 

 

 

IMG_0681 IMG_0682 IMG_0683 IMG_0688 IMG_0689 IMG_0691 IMG_0692 IMG_0693

 

figures7

 

As an artist I feel I have grown a great deal since coming to college.  I have further enriched my knowledge of graphic design and learned a lot about how to compose better, more effective images.  I feel that with my new knowledge I will be able to make greater statements and turn more heads in the art world.  From a drawing perspective, I’ve gone from not being to draw at all to having a pretty good understanding of how to draw and shade things.  I’ve learn a lot about atmospheric perspective and how to give a 2-d image 3-d properties, and making certain things pop within my images.  I’ve learned how to control my lines better, and how to make much more compelling work.

I feel to be an artist is to make work that provokes thought.  Throughout almost all of my pieces, I instill a deep underlying meaning that the viewer is left to decide.  I feel all artwork should be up for interpretation, and should give people something to think about.

As far as figure drawing goes, I started out knowing nothing and was hoping to improve in every aspect of it.  I mildly confident in my proportions before taking the class, but upon taking it my skills have vastly improved.  I have learned how to put more life into my characters, and how to make it so that they feel less like images, and more like real people.  My knowledge of proportioning the characters have gotten far better that ever before, and I am excited to see what else I learn over the second half of the semester.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
Aside | This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

