Week 1 Journal

Week 1/Day 1

  1. What skills, that are pertinent to figure drawing, do you have with which you feel comfortable?

I am fairly confident in my ability to draw the proportions of the body somewhat accurately.  I have consistently been able to draw the proportions fairly accurate and believe that I have a decent understanding of where everything is supposed to be.

  1. What aspect of figure drawing do you want to improve?

I need to improve on adding life to my drawings.  Typically my drawings look very stagnant and lack the life that I really want to give them.  I intend on practicing drawing several different poses and trying new things to see if I can bring my characters to life.

  1. How will you use the skills listed in question one to strengthen the areas of weakness?

I will use my proportional knowledge to make sure that when I draw more lively characters that they look fairly accurate.  It’s mostly a matter of drawing more realistic and less stiff poses.

  1. How will you measure your improvement? Be specific.

I will constantly look back at my old drawings and compare them to see how things have changed.  Hopefully I will see significant improvement within the first month.  If I see the drawings have made minimal improvement, I will look further into my studies and not stop drawing until I see a noticeable different.

  1. Name a famous painting/sculpture (figure) that has remained in your memory bank.  Describe the emotional impact it had on you…why does it haunt you?  Discuss the design characteristics, using design language, which you attribute to its impact.

One artist that has always greatly appealed to me has been Moonmonstar on Deviantart. http://moonmonstar.deviantart.com

His art is primarily watercolor and mildly abstract.  All of his art is very organic and gives off a very creepy, uncomfortable vibe.  He typically paints popular characters from video games and depicts them in a light that has never been seen before.  He greatly exaggerates features of the characters, and distorts their appearance greatly, like a creepy caricature of sorts.  I would love to be able to capture the life that he does, and the strong emotion he is able to convey in his art.  I aspire to be able to create art like this in the future.

  1. Name a figurative artist that you admire, other than the one already discussed.  What about their style do you admire and why?

One artist that I admire is Alex Ross.  All of the heros that he draws in his comics are filled with life and emotion.  He has very organic lines, and very apparent motion in all of his drawings.  It is inspiring to see how someone can put that much life into their art.  I one day hope to be able to do what he does and capture the feelings he makes in his art.

7.   Is there a medium in which you want to improve your skills? What is it?

As a digital artist, I intend on improving my drawing skills in Photoshop.  That medium has always appealed to me, and I am more ample to spend a lot of time drawing when using the program.

SECTION 1:

This exercise demonstrates how different parts of my body relate to each other in proportion to size.  Each black bar is the length of one of my feet.  I’ve concluded that my body as a whole is roughly six of my feet high.  My neck and head are approximately one foot high.  I am a little over a foot in width of my body.  My forearm is about a foot long, and my upper arm is about a foot and a half long.

Prop

SECTION 2:

I researched several techniques used by various artists on how to accurately draw the human head.  Most of these techniques involve starting with basic forms such as a sphere, oval, or box.  From there you gradually add more and more detail and sculpt the face out of the original geometric figure.

Draw

SECTION 3:

In this exercise I sketched several caricatures to better understand the structure of the face.  Learning to exaggerate features and make things stand out will help me see how everything fits together.  Being able to alter reality will help me to better understand reality.

Characature1 Characature2 Characature3 Characature4

SECTION 4:

I did a blind contour drawing of ten different people.  I decided to draw people of different races, genders, sizes and shapes.  Drawing a great variety of people will help me to have a broad understanding of people as opposed to one specific type.

blindcontour

SECTION 5:

I took a side view picture of several of my classmates, traced them, and measured where all of the features were in relation to the rest of the face.  I then compared the faces to each other to  notice how people’s facial features can vary.

Imageface measurements

SECTION 6:

I did a blind count our drawing of one of my classmates.  From there I constructed a wireframe sculpture and tried to recreate it to the best of my ability.  It came out very abstract, and shows how someone can draw a face in an abstract manor but still have everyone know what it is.

BC    wireface

SECTION 7:

I traced several skulls that I found online to help understand how all of the features relate to one another, and to understand the general structure of the face in general.  This exercise will ultimately help me to draw more accurate faces and how everything fits together.

Skull1skull2skull3

skull4

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

