MUNCH

A short pixilation in which a man turns another into a bag of chips, which proceeds to run away from him.

My pixilation was inspired by the object animation artist Adam Pesapane or, as he is more widely known, PES.  He was born on May 26, 1972 and started doing animation in 2001.  He got a Bachelors degree for Literature from the University of Virginia.  Eventually he wanted to start making animation to convey his ideas as opposed to writing.  Since he started doing stop motion, PES has received a huge amount of attention from the media and has made quite a name for himself.   A huge reason for his success is that he makes films that people can really relate to and connect with.  One example of this is the short film titled “Game Over”.  In this film, he uses several everyday objects to portray many classic arcade games.  This is highly relatable because kids have played the games and can discover the film; this could cause them to potentially show their parents who can relate to the video and potentially share it with other adults.  This way, the content he created can be shared between two generations and create more of a stir as opposed to most film makers who usually just aim for one.  After achieving notable success, PES started getting commissioned to do commercials for major corporations such as Coinstar, Scrabble, Bacardi, Sprint among many others.  This only pushed his career farther and increased his level of success.  Just this year he was nominated for an Academy Award for his short film Fresh Guacamole.  At the moment he is working on a feature film, trying to further his career even further.

To create his work, PES does a style of stop motion animation known as object animation.  This form of animation is created by taking a multitude of pictures of inanimate objects; moving them little by little every picture.  The pictures are put into a sequence and it makes the objects appear as if they are actually moving.  This form of animation is used to make objects seem like they can do things that aren’t possible in real life.  Object animation has been around for several decades and seems to be at the peak of it’s popularity as it is getting more commercialized and widely used in media and advertising.  PES can easily be classified as at the forefront leading the charge of the Object Animation trend, for he is one of the most successful Object Animation artists to date.

He was a big inspiration to me for the film I just created because I watched many of his films, all of which I could relate to.  His animations are very smooth and consist of very many frames.  I tried to make my animation both very smooth and highly relatable just like his.  Being in college, I realize that many of my colleagues eat snack foods on a regular basis, also often times the vending machines at my college are failing to work and are constantly jamming.  I incorporated this into my animation so that my fellow classmates could relate to, and would want to watch my piece.  I wanted to achieve a smooth animation so that the piece would look more believable and not cheaply done.

I feel successful in trying to accomplish these elements of PES’s work.  Many of my classmates became very interested in seeing the film I have created and intend on looking it up.  Also, the animation came out very smooth and looks fairly well done.  In my future work, I intend on doing more object animation work that is less pixilation based, much like a lot of PES’s work.  PES has easily became one of my greatest artistic inspirations, and I can only hope to one day be as successful as he is in his trade.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

