Biomorphism.

 A drawing combining the features of a hen with the features of a  teapot.

Farm

Foundations, 11”X14”, Graphite in Sketchbook, Graphite on Bristol Board

This project required me to combine the features of an inanimate object, and a living creature.  For this project, I combined a teapot and a hen.  To accomplish this project effectively, I first was required to understand the two things I was combining as separate entities.  First I Looked at a teapot and drew nine different drawings to understand exactly how it was constructed, and how to draw it effectively.  Next, I looked at a hen and drew a series of drawings from every angle to understand exactly how to draw one.  The next step was combining the two objects.  I decided to use the body of the teapot for the body of the hen, and applied a feather texture.  Next I decided to use the spout of the teapot for the hen’s neck and head.  Once I made a few rough drawings of this in my sketchbook, I began to think up an interesting composition.  I felt it to be interesting to depict a scene at the dinner table where a teakettle might appear in real life.  I brought several other objects to life and included them in the piece to make for a more interesting composition.  These creatures include: a teacup chicklett, a milk carton cow, a salt shaker sheep, and a pepper shaker pig.  I applied depth to the piece by utilizing elements of atmospheric perspective.

I am truly proud of this piece and it has showed me what I can really do when I dedicate myself to an art piece.  Going into the semester I didn’t have the slightest idea how to draw, or compose art.  This was the final project for the semester and it truly shows all that I have learned throughout the year so far.  This drawing shows how much I was taught by my professors and shows the potential that I have if I apply myself.  This project in particular taught me a lot about shading, texture, atmospheric perspective, and form.  Without these elements I surely would not have been able to put this piece together the way that I did.  This project has taught me a lot and I intend on using all of the things I’ve learned from this project, and throughout the course of the year to make bigger and better art in the future.

Preliminary Drawings

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

