Rotation.

A phenokistoscope that displays a hat rotating and two other short animations .

Phenokistoscope

            A phenakistoscope is a wheel with twelve images that when turned will display a small animation when looked at through the slits and in a mirror.  There are small slits cut in the wheel to create an interruption of vision that will aid in the  display and overall visualization of the animation.  I was asked to create a phenakistoscope that showed the three dimensional rotation of a hand held object, as well as two smaller animations toward the center of the wheel

My phenakistoscope utilizes the artistic principles of repetition, movement, contrast, and focal point.  Each drawing is very similar and shows repetition in the way that all of the images are of the same object, but slightly augmented.  The angles slightly change and eventually after all the drawings have gone by you will see a full rotation of the object.  Movement is displayed in the animated rotation of the object.  There is contrast demonstrated in the way that my piece is monochromatic and therefore has 50/50 contrast.  The focal part of my drawing is the black brim of the hat.  This allows the viewer to focus on a certain aspect and can help them to better see the animation.

For my phenakistoscope I created my favorite hat.  The hat that I drew is an item that is very close to me.  It is my favorite hat and I have had it for many years.  I have worn it to many events during my life and it is an item that holds a lot of my memories.  Another thing that makes this item special to me are the signatures that I have on the brim.  I have had this hat signed by some of my favorite musicians and music is a big part of my life.  The other images that I created on the inner rings of my phenakistoscope were pac-man and a levitating dot.  Growing up, pac man was one of my favorite video game icons, and was something that I can always look back on from my childhood.  I was limited for space for my third animation, so I created something very simple.  The dot was a effective, simple option that would easily communicate an animation with the limited space that was available.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
Image | This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

