Youth.

A pixilation depicting the classic nursery rhyme Three Blind Mice.

Three Blind Mice Pixilation 

Norman Mclaren was born in Stirling, Scotland April 11, 1914.  He was a man of many traits.  He was an animator, scientist, inventor and a musician.  He fell in love with film while attending the School of Fine Arts.  He made his first film in 1934 and it did very well in film festivals.  He used the money that he won to produce more films.  He continued making films and moved to Canada.  He soon became Canada’s film commissioner.  He soon started working at NFB studio and never left.

Norman McLaren is notorious for having very smooth looking pixilation, almost to the point to where one could confuse it with a film. Often times, the events in his work lines up with the audio, to the point where it can almost be considered visual music.  This can be seen in his work “Neighbors” released in 1952. Also, within his works there is often a deep message hidden within the work, which requires a deep psychoanalysis.  

I was trying to mimic McLaren’s smooth animation, the pictures lining up with events in the audio, and the deep message hidden within the piece.  I tried to have every movement from picture to picture be very small so I could achieve the smoothness that McLaren often did.  I tried planning out how the audio would correspond with the events and tried very hard to make things line up.  I really thought about the words in three blind mice and what it could truly mean from a deeper point of view.

It was very difficult getting my photos to line up with the music exactly, like McLaren likes to do.  I tried making a plan and having things line up exactly, but it didn’t quite work out.  All of my animation looked like it moved much too fast and appeared to be fast-forwarded.  The frame rate was smooth, but it was almost too many frames.  Next time I will have to edit my technique to achieve better results.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

