Identity.

A mask created to depict the three dimensional form of a human face.

This project was all about learning the structure of the human face. It was very meticulous but proved to be a very useful learning process. Constructing this face truly showed me how the face goes together and will be very useful when I begin figure drawing. It took a very long time to figure out exactly how the face went together and how to get the angles just right, but all of the pieces finally fit into place in the end.
I took inspiration from the stone heads located on Easter Island. I took note of very distinct features in the face such as the protruding nose and the heavy brow line. I made a lot of different pieces in the jawline to ensure accuracy and correct fit. Getting the cheeks and nose to fit right was also quite a process. Overall, I enjoyed the project and think it will surely help me in the future.
I included one eyebrow on this piece because with the way my hair is, you typically only see one of my eyebrows. I believe that this ties the piece to me on more of a personal note. Instead of just making any human face, I made MY face. I felt this was a easy, but very effective way of personalizing the head and injecting some creativity into the piece.

The piece was titled identity due to the fact that everyone is identified by their face.

About JamesWrobel

I'm a junior at Alfred State College majoring in Digital Media and Animation. I specialize in digital art and photography rather than drawing and painting. It's a work in progress and I'm working hard to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

